Trust

Standard

One of the hardest things to do in this life is to trust. Why? Because truly trusting requires that one let go of all control of the situation, and that’s no fun.

At this point in our lives, Cristina and I find ourselves in a very unique position. We are both blessed with good jobs at the moment, a safe place to live and we are surrounded by family and friends. But, we are on the verge of taking a really big step. In getting married, God is calling us to lay down our lives to each other (and through that – to Him) and to fully trust in one another.

Sometimes I don’t think if we all fully understand how big of a deal it is to get married. I am literally putting all of my trust in Cristina, entrusting my mind/body/soul to her in hope that she will help me get to heaven….and she is entrusting everything to me.

Even our money, something completely secular, teaches us to trust in Him…

Regardless of what the vocation may be – we are all ultimately called to lay down our lives for Christ…fully trusting in Him to provide for us and to show us the way.

Cristina and I can’t say that we know exactly where we will be a year from now. God may send us children, He may call us far away from the life that we live today…..and our job is to let go of it all, trusting that He will open the doors we need to enter and will shut the ones that we need to avoid. I’ve found in my own life that only when I’ve attempted this, forcefully choosing to let go of my obsession of “being in control” of my life, God always comes through and has the best plan. No matter what we try to do, our own plans and work will always crumble if they are not rooted in Him.

The worst moments of my life haven’t necessarily been when I felt  like I didn’t know where I was going, but more when I felt like I had everything figured out.

We are excited! Life is beautiful and in only these past 4-5 years, Cristina and I have both had adventures following the Lord! Together as husband and wife, the future can only be that much more exciting! Please pray for us as we prepare for our big day and for where God is calling us after!


One response »

Leave a Reply

